Charles Grodin Likes Candy

18Feb09

grodinTwo days before Valentine’s Day I was making a stop at See’s Candies in the Westfield Fashion Square in Sherman Oaks. It’s not uncommon to spot celebrities here – it wasn’t long ago that I walked past Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters pushing a stroller.

But, Thursday was special. Thursday was Charles Grodin Day.

Like me, Chuck was buying candy. We both arrived at the register at the same time. So, of course, I offered up the “after you.”

“Not at all,” Grodin said politely. “You were here first.”

And so, I paid for my heart-shaped box of chocolate. Grodin waited, with the same selection in hand.

“Didn’t these used to be smaller?” he asked me. “I guess they’re out,” I shrugged.

I left See’s thinking what a nice guy Chalres Grodin is. The kind of guy you would invite over for a Summer BBQ and show off the crown molding in the living room. But, I couldn’t help but wonder why he would have preferred buying the smaller box of candy. Has the economy taken its toll on him as well? After all, this is the same guy that balanced the federal budget for Dave. Remember?

No Responses Yet to “Charles Grodin Likes Candy”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

