The Day 2008 Stood Still

31Dec08

photo1

2008 has been a difficult year. I could laundry list reasons why I will not miss it, from vacations gone wrong to a car break-in. I could drown my sorrows and regrets in a comfortable old bottle of Jack Daniels as tonight’s clock approaches Midnight. I could Twitter all day about all the mistakes that I’ve made in the past 365 days alone. But, I won’t.

One day saved my entire year. July 31, 2008. The day my daughter, Sadie Jayne, was born.

Just typing that made me smile.

When I reflect on that one single day, I forget about the car stereo and video camera that were stolen. I forget about the 401k and the Roth IRA that have all but evaporated. I forget about the Christmas bonus that never came. I forget about the dreams that failed to materialize with the passing of another year. I forget about friends and family that have disappeared.

All I can remember is that one day in Pasadena. Standing there in the hospital room, cradling Sadie in my arms, rocking her to sleep. I remember looking into her eyes and making her a promise. I will always be here for you. I will be a success for you. I will be a better man for you.

2008 could have been the worst year on record. It will be remembered as the best.

I wish you and your family a Happy New Year. Here’s to making 2009 even better.

4 Responses to “The Day 2008 Stood Still”

  1. Your year was cake compared to mine. So I’m going to revel in the joy of your new baby too! Congratulations on a great year and goddamn I can’t wait until 2009!

  2. Welcome to being a Dad Jason. I have to admit its one of the constant joys, even with the tough stuff. At the end of the day no matter what happened I still get the “Goodnight Dad I love you” which just melts it all away. Stuff happens, things may come and go, but family, especially your own makes it worth it. Happy 2009!

  3. *sniff* What a beautiful post! I’m all for a better 2009 too! 2008 sucked for me in a lot of ways, but there were really good things too. Happy 2009 to you and your family. Hopefully it will be great for all of us!

  4. way to make me cry jason.

    she’s beautiful!


Leave a Reply

