Top 10 Tweeps Of 2008

30Dec08

Twitter made things interesting again this year. I am constantly amazed at how entertaining people can be in 140 characters or less. Some of them I know face-to-face. Some of them I just know. All of them make me laugh when I least expect it.

Here my Top 10 Tweeps, in no particular order, that I began following in 2008. They’re all very real and all very amusing. I hope they keep it up.

1. Best Co-Worker
@ginayates

She writes for a living. She tweets to keep her sanity. She’s an actor who dreams of being on Law & Order. She likes clothes, film, martinis, and wants to be on Law & Order. Have I mentioned that she wants to be on Law & Order?ginayates1

2. Best Actor
@JonathanNail

Always asking for good vibes for an audition, he’s the only working actor I know that will tweet from whatever set he’s on and give you a rundown of craft services. He also tweets about other stuff, you know, to remind you that he is a human.jonathannail

3. Best Mom
@noirbettie

In a constant battle with her son Sam, a wee child begging for attention and food. She never wins, and never will. But, she keeps on trying. Always asking her followers for permission to drink, to which they happily consent. You wish your mom was half this cool.                                      noirbettie

4. Best Traveler
@discotrash

Is she in San Luis Obispo? Is she in Los Angeles? Is she passed out in a car somewhere in between? One never really knows. But, her tweets are amusing in any area code. Plus, she’s a radio chick. And she doesn’t really care what you think, anyway.
discotrash1

5. Best Couple
@slackmistress & @betheboy

Probably the most entertaining two people on the internet, and they’re not even making this stuff up. They met and married through their blogs, have their own Saturday night web show, and they tweet about everything – sometimes while sitting right next to each other. They’re also in a hot blogger calendar.slackmistress
betheboy

6. Best Metblogger
@davidmarkland

He doesn’t tweet as often as he should. But, he makes it count when he does. Recently spent an entire workday tweeting the complete lyrics of Band Aid’s Feed the World. Because he hates the song. He’s also a big proponent of the ShamWow. Accept no imitators!
davidmarkland1

7. Best Free Spirit
@molls

There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t read her updates and wonder aloud, “What??” She is allowed to write whatever she feels like, because, she will anyway. Some of it may even wind up in one of her infamous videos. Never dull. Never boring. Always molls.
molls

8. Best Out-Of-Stater
@GollyGeeGidget

I’ve known this one for years, and she always brings the funny. She’s also in radio, and she’ll show you the behind the scenes ridiculous that is broadcasting. There’s a lot of it. Ask her about her alphabetized kitchen pantry. Oh, and she likes otters.
gollygeegidget1

9. Best Pervert
@BlazingShark

She may not be the safest person to follow at work. But, she’s worth every tweet. She’s brash. She’s descriptive. She’s very big on TMI. When you see one of her tweets appear, you know you’re in for a wild ride. (Which is something she would probably say.)
blazingshark

10. Best Non-Human
@demonspawn

This is not your ordinary cat. She has a Twitter account, and she’s not afraid to use it. Every tweet is about how the human has been outsmarted once again. You almost get the feeling that this cat has a plan. And that certainly can’t end well.demonspawn

15 Responses to “Top 10 Tweeps Of 2008”

  1. 1 betheboy

    Thanks for including me, I am honored.

  2. Thanks for being funny.

  3. Thanks! Although Will will probably say it’s all ’cause of the King Pants – they are oddly powerful….

  4. Wow – flattered! Or should I say, Sham-Wow – flattered!

    But, for the record, I love the “Feed the World” song – I just hate that it was stuck in my freakin’ head for the first half of December. Tweeting the lyrics, BTW, DID help rid it from my system. 🙂

  5. Thats a GREAT TOP 10 List!

    I’m proud to tweet with the BEST.

  6. Awww, thank you. I’m thrilled to be included.

  7. 9 ginayates

    You’re swell, Burns! Although, @demonspawn is now demanding Fancy Feast. I don’t have that kind of dough.

  8. I think you may have bigger issues than your cat’s culinary demands.

  9. I am typing my thanks with one hand; the other hand is holding Sam’s popcorn and my beer is on its own. I should go cheer it up.

  10. i am really flattered that my drunken pantslessness makes you laugh! cheers!

  11. Nice list Jason. Still getting over the “darn!” factor that I wasn’t your best “News and tips about Twitter” source—but I guess you can have only one favorite out-of-stater!

  12. Great post and what a nice thing to do at the end of a Twitter year. Hope your 2009 is a blast!


  1. 1 OMG I ARE A STAR « Tales from the Gutter

Leave a Reply

