Obama Newspapers Hard to Find in Los Angeles

06Nov08

nypostTo mark the historic occasion of the first African-American President in U.S. history, I thought it would cool to pick up the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times for souvenirs. I can’t even remember the last time I actually bought the print version of a newspaper. I didn’t even know how much they cost.

Stopping by the Laurel Canyon newsstand at Ventura Boulevard around 6:15 last night, I found out that I wasn’t the only one who waited until the last minute. I listened in as the newsstand guy talked to an interracial couple, who had been running all over town in search of the New York Times. They’re all out, he said. Everywhere. He told the couple that the most popular paper of the day had been the New York Post, with its cover of “Mr. President.” So now, of course, I had to find that one, too.

I walked away with a lone copy of the L.A. Times. It was lighter than ever, and it bore the stain of hundreds of jobs lost and lives ruined. It symbolized one institution’s fall from grace and an economy in shambles. Yet it felt full of promise for a nation so desperate for good news. Desperate for change. Desperate for hope.

* I found out that you can also order copies of the the New York Times and the Post on their web sites. Their sites are overwhelmed, which shows you just how big this moment is.

Order the New York Times

Order the New York Post

2 Responses to “Obama Newspapers Hard to Find in Los Angeles”

  1. We get the L.A. Times delivered Friday through Sunday, primarily for the Fry’s ads (still not fully available online) and coupons. I usually don’t read it. But, I wanted yesterdays paper and only remembered at midnight. I drove all over the place with no luck, weeping in my car. Bummer.

  2. 2 ginayates

    NYT is charging $14.95 per copy – doh! DAMN. That’s a hefty order of stocking stuffers.


Leave a Reply

