A Letter to Florida on Election Day

04Nov08

florida-montageDear Florida:

Remember the year 2000? I had just moved to Indiana for a radio gig. I didn’t know anyone. I didn’t know my way around town. And I really didn’t care all that much about politics. I was the new night guy at WZPL/Indianapolis. My biggest concerns were football and girls.

Not much has changed. Except for 9/11, two wars, a move to Los Angeles, meeting The One, and the amazing gift of a baby girl.

I just wanted you to know that there are no hard feelings. You are my home state. The past 8 years have been tough on all of us. A lot of mistakes were made. But, I’d like to think we’ve grown from that. Now we know what we need in a leader. And for the first time in years, we have 2 great leaders to choose from. I think that’s pretty cool.

I plan on being part of American history today. I’m voting for change. I’m voting for hope. I’m voting for my daughter’s future. I even wore a tie to cast my vote. It’s that important.

I just wanted you to know that I was thinking of you, from the other side of the Union. I hope you’re doing well. And I hope you get the votes counted accurately.

Jason

One Response to “A Letter to Florida on Election Day”

  1. It was tough, but I got my parents and youngest brother in Florida to vote. The fact that they all voted the way I’d hoped they would was even better.


Leave a Reply

