Embrace Your Inner Nerd

23Jul08

It’s Geek Week in California, as thousands of nerds migrate South for the weekend to attend Comic-Con. A convention about comic books, and all things geek. This means that pretty people here in L.A. will be able to operate vehicles at posted speeds on the city’s freeways, and soccer moms will be able to enjoy their non-fat latte at the local frappachinery without the ominous glow of Apple logos and the busy hum of Dark Knight analysis.

Geeks travel well for their away game.

I’ll admit it. I’m jealous that can’t make the trip. I want to go. I just don’t want to pay for anything. Or wear a costume. Or attend any panels. I just want to people-watch.

I want to have drinks with Tron and the Green Lantern, and have Erin Gray sign my foot. I want my picture taken with 40-year-olds who have spent the past 11 months combing the internet for the perfect accessory to complete their Black Canary outfit.

There is an inner nerd in all of us. It can be triggered at any moment. It should not be suppressed. It should be embraced. Your nerd is what gives you power.

Of course, it does always helps to have a cape, or something.

2 Responses to “Embrace Your Inner Nerd”

  1. 1 David Markland

    If it weren’t for this Vegas gig, I’d be on my way.

  2. 2 Jason

    Poor Markland. He has to “work” in Vegas!


Leave a Reply

