Stop Asking Me Questions – I Don’t Work Here

11Jul08

It doesn’t matter what store I’m in these days. Best Buy, Target, Ralph’s. I’ve become a Sir. A Mister. An employee. I do not work for any of these places. I do not even wear anything resembling the standard uniform required of such employment. But, just the same, I am always approached with a shopper’s question.

Today, I’m in a Rite-Aid. I’m in jeans, a red polo shirt, and tennis shoes. I’m standing in the hardware aisle, holding a tube of Amazing Goop sealant. Two giggling high schoolers ask me where they can find batteries. Upon the realization that I’m just Joe Shopper, they giggle off in the wrong direction, whispering their collective embarrassment.

As I said, this is not a new occurrence. People always mistake me for an employee, no matter where I am or what I’m wearing. I used to find it annoying. But, I think I will start having some fun with it.

“Yes… we moved all our our batteries to the Feminine Needs aisle.”

3 Responses to “Stop Asking Me Questions – I Don’t Work Here”

  1. 1 Jodi

    Um yeah. I realized I wore a red shirt and khakis to Target once…oops! It also happened recently while I was on an escalator at Westside Pavilion. I realized later it was because I was wearing my L.A. Film Fest badge.

  2. 2 Jason

    After I wrote this post, I ran to Target on my lunch break. Still wearing the red shirt. Managers kept looking at me like, “who is that? Is he new?”

  3. 3 Lisa

    I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one that gets this occurance. I thought it was crazy.


Leave a Reply

