Does Twitter Distract From or Inspire Your Blogging?

11Jul08

That was the question posed by Darren Rowse at ProBlogger, and one that had a surprising rollercoaster of reactions in my head.

I realized that I go through phases, or internet mood swings. I started out blogging everything on this site. Then, when I was invited to write for Metblogs, I began to gravitate there. It didn’t help that the MB site goes through waves of participation on its own. When others weren’t writing, I felt compelled to fill the silence – like a first date where you’re staring across the table at some waif who has barely touched her salad and doesn’t know shit about sports.

Then came Twitter.

I sent tweets about everything. What I overheard at work. How many cups of coffee I had. Songs that were stuck in my head. Blogging had all but disappeared from my daily ritual. But, I’ve come full circle. I’ve begun to blog more on my own site again, for the most ironic of reasons: My inspiration comes from reading other blogs, which I have discovered by following people on…. Twitter.

Not that I don’t still tweet about useless shit. Of course I do.

5 Responses to “Does Twitter Distract From or Inspire Your Blogging?”

  1. When I first joined twitter, I updated my status almost every hour with useless information. I’m still doing so, but I’ve came to the realization – that it can be a tool – for the exact reasons you’ve listed above. Social networking is such a vast landscape and I’m finally finding some ground to stand on. I try to update my blog site daily and I’ve been looking to twitter for other means then letting my followers in on how tired I feel or how hungry I am. Lol.

    I’ve included your site in my blogroll, you don’t have to do the same for me…just thought I’d mention it. Also might include this link in my “best of” posts for the week.

    Cheers!

    John Darko
    http://johndarko.blogspot.com

  2. 2 Chad

    I was on Twitter constantly in the first few months but now I use it mostly as a compliment to my blog, by just getting the word out on major posts and big events/news.

    follow us at: http://www.twitter.com/lasnark

  3. I would say inspire rather than distract, I wrote about a similar subject on Twitter recently: http://www.imafish.co.uk/blog/pete/23-07-08/what-should-i-write-about-twitter

  4. 4 fragusatt

    Much the interesting has found here

  5. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    I’m Out! 🙂


Leave a Reply

