Is L.A Getting… Nicer?

23Jun08

There’s an event happening. People are being nicer to each other. In Los Angeles.

Have you noticed this? It could be a result of citizen bonding due to high gas prices, or searing temperatures. Maybe it’s a strange neurotoxin released by the trees that is making us want to be cordial to each other.

Today, I witnessed people saying “Yes, ma’am” and “thank you.” A guy held the door open for me at Scorecard in Studio City. A girl held it open at a Subway in Valley Village. And despite the fact that I was amused at finding one woman wearing Uggs and another wearing cowboy boots – both with shorts – I refrained from taking pictures to poke fun at them later.

What is wrong with me? What is wrong with us? Is L.A. getting…. friendlier? The signs are everywhere: All over Ventura Boulevard, where dozens of parking spaces have been spotted, no doubt left empty out of courtesy for shoppers from over the Hill.

Whatever is going on, we have to find a way to stop it. We cannot let the word get out. If this epidemic continues to grow, we will inevitably wind up on some list in some magazine as a top vacation destination. Which means a lot more of those damn tourists from everywhere else.

3 Responses to “Is L.A Getting… Nicer?”

  1. 1 Jodi

    In my 13+ years here in L.A., I’ve found people in general to be quite nice. The homeless and street people here are exceptionally friendly! I’ve lived in several other states and don’t see a difference in friendliness too much. I find it to be much worse in the South where they “act” friendly, but it’s often fake. Anyway, that’s just my $.02.

  2. 2 Jodi

    I realized you’re from FL & meant no offense in above comment. I’ve lived in Virginia, Texas, & Florida & spent some time in Alabama. I was burned more in those places than L.A.

  3. 3 Jason

    No offense taken!


Leave a Reply

