Branching Out As An Actor

23May08

I know many actors who would never, never, never do anything else in the world except for acting. “It’s in my blood,” they say. “I couldn’t live!”

You can’t take drama out of melodramatic.

Over the past couple of years, I’ve learned that keeping your options open is the smartest thing you can do for any career. Acting is no exception. Having 12 years experience in radio broadcasting has provided me a lot of options. Copy writing. Digital Production. Voice overs. All of which I could have, and should have, pursued more fully. But, in learning to keep my options open, I’ve also learned that there is no such thing as a “career window.” It isn’t too late to start anything.

I’ve toyed with the idea of freelancing v/o, but I’ve always had reasons not to jump in at full throttle. Not having the right gear, the right demo, an agent… blah blah blah. Today, I stumbled upon Cameron Anthony Park, who has some experience in this area. Here is a great post by CAP for anyone thinking about a career in voice overs:

Voice Over Tip: I Want To Be A Voice Over Artist… Do I Need An Agent?

Photo from Voices.com

One Response to “Branching Out As An Actor”

  1. 1 cap

    Thanks so much for finding my post and linking it up to your blog.

    Voice Over acting is a hidden secret that’s coming out of the shadows more and more and I feel that it’s only a matter of time before the industry as a whole become more democratic and open to anyone who really has a passion and talent for the field without the traditional barriers of entry that have hindered non-insiders from joining the party.

    Cheers!

    cap


Leave a Reply

