Training Days

02Aug07

I’ve been studying with Laura Gardner at the Howard Fine Acting Studio in Hollywood for about a year and a half now. In L.A. years, that’s an eternity. I was amused/annoyed/bored/disinterested yesterday when my crazy neighbor stopped by to steal my wireless password.

FADE IN:

EXT. FRONT DOOR OF APARTMENT AFTERNOON

CRAZY NEIGHBOR shields the sun from her eyes with her left hand, her right, resting on her hip. WEIRD GUY is in tow.

 

CRAZY NEIGHBOR

So you’re still taking acting classes?

THE ACTOR

Yep.

CRAZY NEIGHBOR

And what are you doing with that?

THE ACTOR

Acting.

There’s a stigma in this town about studying anything. Yahoos move out here every day, get headshots, and start auditioning. A small percentage of them might even take a class, so they can have a Howard Fine or Larry Moss on the resume. And then there’s a select few who actually get it. They study because they know the pay-off. Sure, you may score a part simply by auditioning. But, what happens when they discover you can’t act? It’s the difference between being a professional and being a fraud. I for one, don’t want to fake being able to fake.

I think I just confused myself, and I’m OK with that.

No Responses Yet to “Training Days”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

